Craigslist. Get Hip

After almost cussing out my bestfriend for sending me one of those bored at work emails, again, I felt inspired to give you occupationally unattached folks a little something today. Say what you will but I think being unemployed can be fabulous if done right.

The great Impressionist era artist Claude Monet said during his loafing years:
“Subsistence is one thing, comfort is something else.”

I agree, there’s no reason to be uncomfortable while unemployed if you know how to be creative with your resources and you get decent unemployment benefits. At this point I’d rather be fabulously unemployed than held hostage in a cubicle trying to eek out a subsistence in this dodgy economy. 

My uncle told me, as I was preparing for my Rockband Birthday soiree last Friday, I make unemployment look good. As Sarah Palin would say, youre darn right!

So this week’s tip is: Craigslist. It’s your friend. 

Of course you can forage for employment there but you can also earn quick cash.

You likely overlook it, but the ETC and GIGs sections are where it’s at.

  • ETC: Hosts a hodge podge of jobs but the best things going are focus groups and market research studies. Jackpot baby! You get cold hard cash and sometimes a check to give your opinion on things you’re qualified to discuss. Videogame fanatic? Beauty product hoarder? Have  a double door Kenmore refrigerator? Get paid!  There are loads of market research companies that want to pay you for your experience with these things and many more. Feeling a little more dicey? Participate in a medical study for issues like Depression, back pain, ADD, etc. You likely have no insurance, so why not kill two birds with one stone? Free medical help and cash-fabulous. Or help a couple out. Donate some eggs or sperm; it pays top dollar.

 

  • GIGS: This section offers creative short term and last minute gigs like bartending a wedding reception for $200 bucks, pose for a live art display, or stand in for your local band’s drummer for cash. Bottomline, it’s fun and it pays. The opportunities are endless if you’re looking to lend your services for a short period. 

Stay tuned for the next installment. In the meantime, it’s all about Craigslist. Get hip! Email me at unemployedandfabulous@gmail.com or follow me on twitter, djgolightly

No comments yet

Leave a comment