Change Is Here!

I’m feeling like Oprah these days, how did I get here, again? During the Turkey Day and New Year 5 week Foodapalooza, I packed on a good 15 pounds!  Hopefully it’ll take only that amount of time to get it off.

Speaking of Oprah, I took granny’s advice and watched the episode she harrassed me for two days over. I’d tivo’d it and watched it much later, and as usual, Granny was on point.  The episode was an ‘I Hate My Job Intervention.’ I initially thought it a tad too late since I’ve been laid off since June, but, I found it to be an eye opener; even for the unemployed. The short version: Op’ and various  women participated in a workshop to identify why they hated their jobs, which led them to realize what they really wanted. For some it was to focus on areas of the job they loved or excelled and for others it  was recalling their passion and switching careers totally. The exciting thing was the tools they used to identify the likes, the loathes; failures, and where they excelled. I believe before going back to the workplace, us enemployed and fabulous need to take a look at this show and utilize some of the tools provided on Oprah.com to figure out what we really want in a career. What’s the point of going back to the same career if you were miserable before the layoff? Perhaps you mentally quit the job before you were fired? Do you really want to feel trapped at that cubicle again? Or is it possible to use this time off to identify your needs, desires, and be fearless in going after what you really want? Times are rough but lets choose hope over fear (thanks Mr. President) .

Below are links to the resources provided by Oprah.com

Session overview:

Workbook:

1 comment so far

  1. Carolyn on

    great meeting you tonight! send me an email with your ideal gig and maybe i will come across something for you.

    C


Leave a Reply

