The DJ Saved My Life

scrach
The unemployed and fabulous is feeling herself today! I managed to make my way back to my turntables to make a lil music for myself (NERD she wants to move blends quite well with MJ’s startin somethin). Considering I’ve yet to get my hands on Serato and I’ve got but 2 handsful of vinyl in varying beats per minute, I’m not ready to rock a party just yet, but I’m working on it. I know I’m not the only one that dreams of shocking the world with their show of awesome turntablism. So for those of us that dare to dream, there’s Scratch DJ Academy, my alma mater. At Scratch you can give the 1’s and 2’s a whirl without fear of getting your lights punched out just for going toward the tables and without sacrificing an arm or leg to purchase your own because their turntables are open and free to the public during the day (like you have a job to go to during the day). It’s like a community center but for DJs. Scratch allows you to get in touch with your inner dj with the use of their turntables, headphones, and vinyl. If you show real promise, you may be able to coerce a generous dj into instruction, otherwise paid classes are available and they have payment plans. Scratch DJ Academy has locations in LA, NYC, and Miami. Check locations for hours of operation at

2 comments so far

  1. sontue on

    love it! my hubby dj’s and he sounds a lot like you…trying to get back into it but still not REALLY doing it but doing it….does that make sense?? i love your blog! i have a link on our blog to your blog so my followers will hopefully check out your blog. (does that make sense??) lol i guess my thoughts are moving fast….i, too, have ADD!

    talk to you soon………..son2

  2. Hi, good post. I have been thinking about this issue,so thanks for posting. I’ll definitely be subscribing to your posts.


Leave a Reply

